Limit vs. MIT

Hello, I am somewhat new to day trading the S&P E-mini. When entering a trade is it better to use limit orders or MIT orders? I have been taught to use limit orders, but I have missed a lot of good trades because my limit orders did not get filled. What do you guys recommend?
Welcome to the forum iDoc and to trading the E-mini S&P500.

There should be a fairly easy way to work out which is best for you and your trading methodology. Hopefully, you've kept some records of the trades that you've taken and if we're very lucky then you've kept records of the ones that you've missed but would have taken using MIT (Market If Touched) and also the draw downs on the successful trades.

First of all, all of your previous entries would have been at least 0.25 points worse and sometimes 0.5 points worse.

If you're using a hard stop (say 2.00 points) then you need to locate all the trades that were profitable, but only squeeked by not being stopped out. With a MIT order and a hard stop those would have all been stopped out at losses.

You also have to locate all of your profitably closed out trades and make sure that none of them "just" closed at the top of the move before the price headed to your stop or trailing stop. Those too would not have recorded the same profits.

Then, finally, add in all the profits of the trades that would have been filled had you used MIT orders.

This is a fair amount of work to do but you will be surprised at what an eye opener it is. Even though on the face of it you might think that you're missing great trades using limits and not MIT, when you do the bean counting you may discover that limit is more profitable for your strategy.