Need Help Brainstorming

I am a stock trader and have been working on a system based on moving averages. I understand that no system works 100% of the time, but I want to be trading it when it is on a winning streak. So I created a two-level system. In the first level, I execute every trade the technical indicators are telling me. In the second level, I draw an equity curve and execute trades only when the curve is above a moving average.

Click image for original size
No Description Entered

For example, in LEH, the blue line is the level-one equity curve. I trade only when it goes above the orange line. Then when it goes above the red line, I double up. The green line is the level-two equity curve.

I was expecting that the program to capture the phenomenon of sector rotation and that it will keep me in stocks that are moving. It may make money in -- for example -- ABC in April. Then I go into XYZ in May and June. Then in July I go back to ABC when is it on a winning streak. However, winners has been elusive:

Problem 1: The level-one indicators never make money in certain stocks, like HUM.

No Description Entered

Problem 2: Currently I am experimenting with various short-term and long-term moving averages. Perhaps one stock works better in one version while another works better with another version. Is it advisable to simultaneously use two versions?
Problem 3: Some equity curves, like stock prices, are choppy. Is there another way to capture winning streaks?
Problem 4: Many stocks did well during the subprime slime. But since then there are only a couple of winners, like RYL.

No Description Entered

Problem 5: I have only five months of intraday data and I may run into the glove-fitting problem.

I am running out of ideas. Please help as this is my first attempt in writing a trading program. Thanks.
moving averages imply trend following, in which case you might want to look at relative strength to screen your candidates