help needed

after bracketing the first hour on a 10000v chart i noticed that the es kept coming up to the 1345 area and was turned away about 4 times, the trin kept dropping and i saw what looked to me as a reverse head and shoulders. I watched the breakout and bought the pullback to the 1345 area, since I am very new to daytrading can someone tell me if this play was the right call even though it worked in my favor, I want to trade good setups not just get lucky! I have yet to figure out how to upload a snapshot of the chart if someone could help me or upload todays 10000v chart. Thanks in advance!
Sean
If I read your description correctly, it sounds like you did the following:

1. stayed on the sidelines while the market was caught in a trading range / chop

2. recognized the consolidation pattern and the subsequent breakout from it, in other words, you let the market decide the direction it wanted to go once it broke free of the range.

3. you entered at a logical point (price support) in harmony with this new trend direction.

4. the market rewarded you with a profit.

Trading consolidation/range breakouts is a common trading strategy, usually associated with trend following and momentum based trading styles. Just keep in mind, not all breakouts will "stick", resulting in the potential for a loss if the breakout fails. Thus, as with any trading method or style, it is important to always use an appropriate stop loss strategy.
Thanks pt_emini, Ive watched the market do this several times on the chart over the last 2-3 weeks and figured with a tight 1.5-2 point stop it was worth the shot. For the record this was the first time I actually traded it as I am trying to get comfortable watching the charts.