Trend or Contra-trend? That is the question.

Reminds me of "To be or not to be?"

For the most part, I am a contra-trend trader, but I would like to become more balanced if it can make me more successful. I'm interested in hearing what successful trend traders use, indicators or otherwise, for their entries and exits for ES.

My simple observation is the ES doesn't trend a great deal of the time, but maybe I just don't have the confidence to make the trend my friend.

I remember discussing this with pt_emini and I think we came up with the figures that the ES trends (on an intra-day basis) 20% of the time and trades sideways 80% of the time. There was nothing scientific that we used to come up with those numbers. It was just a count of days based on a visual IQ of the shape of the chart for the day. If we were to scientifically define what a trend day is then we could easily count the number of trend and non-trend days.

In fact, I did come up with a psuedo-formula for doing that. It simply took the open and close of the day and measured their proximities to the two extremes and said that if we opened very close to one extreme and closed very close to other extreme then it was a trend day. Using this logic and daily OHLC data one should be able to perform this calculation in Excel.
This is a question (dilemma) where the market profile can help in understanding basic market structure.

In market profile terms, trend day's are the rare exception. The market may run (trend) for an hour or two, but almost always builds a value area sometime during the trading session.

With this understanding, we can tailor our expectations to reality... when the market is either in an established value area or is developing a new value area, trend trading is not appropriate.