Trend or Contra-trend? That is the question.

Reminds me of "To be or not to be?"

For the most part, I am a contra-trend trader, but I would like to become more balanced if it can make me more successful. I'm interested in hearing what successful trend traders use, indicators or otherwise, for their entries and exits for ES.

My simple observation is the ES doesn't trend a great deal of the time, but maybe I just don't have the confidence to make the trend my friend.

I agree with BruceM - regular session data. The reason is because the Market Profile chart is constructed against time (as apposed to volume) and the relevant activity (relevant volume) is during the regular session. The developing value area becomes more important as the day progresses.
quote:
Originally posted by topgun

Thanks. Is there a way to convert or read this information on customary bars or is the exclusive to MP. I use a 3 and 15 minute bar.

You can plot the value area on your chart each morning using two horizontal lines. DT has a thread where he posts the value area each evening after the close of the trading session. For anyone using eSignal, DT has this built into his toolbox.

A value area is nothing more than an area of price congestion, a trading range between intra-day support and resistance.

When studying a traditional price chart, keep in mind my phrase "clear air". I like to visualize price congestion as the area of turbulence an airplane flys through... where is the maximum turbulence? It's in the clouds. When the aircraft is flying through the clouds visibility is poor and turbulence is high, once the aircraft breaks through the cloud deck it is in the clear air, above the turbulence where visibility is good. Likewise when price is inside value (congestion) trading tends to be choppy with poor volume and slow order flow. Once price breaks free of congestion, into the clear air, trading tends to become more directional with greatly improved order flow.