Indicators 4219

Indicators....I hear a lot of pro traders say not to use them. I believe they should not be used alone but with price as the main influence they can be very profitable. When I started trading I never used a signal indicator, I used Point-and-Figure charts and trend lines, Gann square of nine, and Gann 1/8ths (almost the same as Fibonacci numbers) then some time later added indicators. I wonder why indicators get such a bad rap? I never hear Pro Day Traders say that the bar chart doesn't work to me that seems just as silly.

There are days where I will not watch my indicators, I think tomorrow is going to be a day like that. Because we are down almost 1% in after hours and we have had a contraction in price movement its ready for a trend day. Then after a trend day (or 2) its time to turn the indicators on again and go counter trend. There is no written in stone rules for this it just something I can feel.

I think that every trader should have 2 sets of indicators. One set that they use about 20% of the time which are good in trending and semi-trending markets and the other set (oscillators) that are great for Z-Days. Then, and this is the difficult part that I have not yet solved, is to find some way of determining early on in the day which set of indicators to use.
Indicators get a bad rap because they are derived from price and thus are "once removed" which leads to lag and distortion. By distortion I mean they drift around and tend to get completely lost at times. Take your favorite indicator and run it against a perfect sine wave and see what happens. Then run it against a perfect trend.