Wondering how to start...again

I tried trading twice in the last 15 years with no success(-35k). Trading is something I always find myself attracted to so here I am again wanting to make it work. The one advantage I have now is I appreciate how hard it is. I am a contractor by trade and thus have to work during the day. I could trade west coast time from 6am to 730am (day trade?)and or review the market at 5pm and have a trade ready to place in the morning (trend trade?). I also have Vantage Point software but have not used it yet.
I have a few questions after just reading Trading for a Living by Dr. Alexander Elder and Trade your way to financial Freedom by Van K. Tharp. If you consider the basic costs of trading such as data feed, commission and slippage is it really possible for a beginner with a 5k account to make enough to cover those costs plus grow the account. My guess that with taxes one would have to make 10% a month just to cover costs. Can a beginner do that?
Has the recent volatility in the S&P made it a bad time for a beginner with a 5k account to trade the S&P mini?
I have a line on four different systems/methods/classes whose salespeople would love my money. Is there a great class or teacher that people would agree on would be great for someone like me?
Thank you
Virgo
Virgo: Instead of trading real money have you tried paper trading (sim trading)? Before you lose another chunk of money I would suggest honing your skills by doing a whole lot of paper trading and see what sort of profits you can make.

Systems/methods/classes: There may be something out there but my logic and research says that there isn't. One of the best ways to learn, in my opinion, is to follow the day trading discussion thread on this forum each day and ask questions.
data feed is free, trading platform is fee you should get no overhead cost.
I'm gonna try to answer your questions as best I can, then I'm gonna add my 'two cents'.