Question about TA

Hey, guys!

In your opinion, what is the best period for Moving Average, MACD lines/Histogram and RSI, using a 5 min chart?

Thanks a lot.
Guys...?

Anyone?
8,3,3 stochastic

20 ema and an 8 period ema on 5 minute chart

day session only data..newbies to trade short when 8 period ema is below 20 ema and use patience..long when above 20 ema
Hey, Bruce!

Thanks for your answer. Understood!

So, don't you use RSI and MACD Histogram?
I once used those settings long ago but don't use any indicators now....so you asked what were best.....

never did much with RSI or macd.....some like Rachkes 3/10 oscillator

here is one link of many u can find on it

http://blog.afraidtotrade.com/how-do-i-create-the-310-oscillator/
Thanks a lot!
Hi Canis Lupis,
I'm not a big proponent of trading price following mechanisms.
Moving averages, RSI, histograms, .... oscillators are price following mechanisms, which creates a disadvantage where professional traders are trading price, psychology of price (candlesticks), support / resistance, pivot points, techniques of intra-day trading like "fading" the Stretch, Fibonacci ratios of the Stretch, and Fibonacci price measuring objectives, e.g., on an intra-day basis. Have you ever had "an S&P minute"? (That's when a moving average crosses, like when an intra-day consolidation breaks out produces a signal, and then reverses in the opposite direction creating an immediate loss and a cross-over by the moving average, ... oscillators in the moving averages soon after.)

The equity indicies are mecurial, and what may work between earnings announcements, or the first Friday of each month, or the "window dressing" (yes, it sounds derogatory, .... last day and first four days of the month tend to be up), etc., may not work perform consistently from quarter-to-quarter.