Why am I wrong?

I am fairly new to trading in general (under a year). But have received some good basic instruction in charting and strategy. Just started looking at the e-mini s&p. Using the IB broker demo platform to learn. There is something I am seeing that I feel must not really be correct.
I looking at following a simple stochastic strategy; buy when coming above 20 and sell when moving below 80. Then confirm by watching the macd, and watch out for false signals. This strategy seems to find most of the big moves. I also make all orders bracket to protect downside. (it is a little hard for me to figure out where the stops should be in this market yet)

Anyway, in the short time that I have looked it seems to me that the chart hits this pattern at least once in 24 hours. Usually 2 or three times. Sometimes early or overnight, but it does seem to occur on a regular basis.
So it looks to me that I should be able to watch for a simple stochastic signal( perhaps walking me up if needed), and this should be like milking a cow.

So before I go order my Rolls, I thought I would ask what it is that I am missing, or not understanding. Because I seriously doubt it could be as easy as it appears to be. And I do know that I am a newbie. Thanks
Thanks for all the replies. I am really learning a lot here.
Originally posted by cairpre

Thanks for all the replies. I am really learning a lot here.

ROFL that's funny

I do have a question for you on your strategy. What do you so if the Stoch comes down below 80 but then goes back up?

Will you try another short when it goes below 80 again or will you wait until it completes a cycle (meaning it goes down below 20)

The reason I ask is I've seen the market stay above (or below) for extended periods of time.
Hi.

First the disclaimer. I am just a beginner. So don't trust anything I say. But I do know professional trader who is teaching me a few things.