ES Thursday 12-18-14

gonna kick it off with trying to answer a few questions from Tuesday trades....
No video below? Try this link: lesson_trade.swf

and here is "M" pattern from today...trade it at your own risk like all of this stuff
No video below? Try this link: M_pattern.swf

key numbers for Wednesday Overnight and Thursday....employment report at 8;30 EST

Click image for original size
vwap
Bruce, thanks for the videos.
I am relatively new to the ES trading business and I 'm still trying to figure out what works and what does not.
I also used to watch NYSE tick volume, but found it confusing.

Your question about Tuesday's trade: why did I take the long daylow 1974.50?
The idea comes from one of Jim Dalton's webinars where he mentions one of his signature trades: price opens outside previous day range and enters the previous day range. Jim likes to enter the day extremes and then he monitors price for continuation.

I guess I was just lucky, but the following had me thinking a long might actually work:
(1) At the time of my entry there was a poor high formed at 1981.25 and 1981.00
(2) Previous day VAL was at 1981.25
(3) The prominent POC area 1984.75 - 1986.50 had not been visited yet

For those who are interested: today Jim Dalton will be talking about Signature Trading Opportunities in his live webinar.

2014dec16
Here are today's bands. We have hit the 1.5 SD (87%) band in O/N already (yikes!!) so market should have some kind of a pull back in the open. The O/N inventory is basically long.

iv121814
Bruce, thanks for the videos. That helps explain things a bunch. I agree that we should be learning concepts and not looking for the trade itself.