Bid/Ask Strategy

Hello to all at this Forum:

This is my first post as I am new to trading the e-mini. While papertrading I found that too much profit is lost to the bid/ask spread. I use the j-trader platform to trade. The spread is a quarter point. On ten trades the loss to the market is $125.00 if you trade using market orders.

Is there anyway, other than the use of limit orders to buy at the bid and sell at the ask? How can we reduce the loss to the spread?

Thanks for the help.
hi ramesq - welcome to the forum

In general, retail traders tend to use market orders and pay for that conveninece with the bid/ask spread. Most pro's use limit orders to avoid this cost of trading. To answer your question, limit orders is the way to put the spread in your favor.

Depending on the market your trading, and based on your comments I will assume your looking at the ES contract, the ease of limit order fills at the inside bid/ask varies rather significantly. Since the ES has a deep order book, it's often hard to get a fill on limit orders, you are often left feeling like your always 200 contracts away from a fill as you watch the market take off without you. The YM has a thin order book, and thus is usually rather easy to get a small limit order fill. The ER2 is often very fast and trendy in it's moves, so getting a limit filled in the direction of the trend is often very difficult and you will have to pay up and chase price on fast breaks to get in.

The lesson here is to be realistic and really understand the nature of market your going to trade, and plan for how it's nature will affect your trading strategy and results.
Welcome ramesq!

On a slight tangent I've discussed allowing the possibility that the trader determines the price that they bid/ask at up to 100's of a point with the trading platform aggregating the 1/100's bid/asks to 1/10's for ease of viewing.

For example, the market is trading 1311.25 / 1311.50