discount brokers

i have a question for all you traders out there. who do you use as your broker, what do you pay and are you happy with them? if so, why?

i'll get the ball rolling. i use emini direct (www.eminidirect.com) and pay 3.42/side for the nqoos that i trade. happy with them and the j-trader platform.
How do they decide the exact amount that they charge you?

1.85 a side for an ES contract? That's 3.70 RT right?
Ya, I assume thats what they charge everybody
quote:
Originally posted by Trader Guy

I started trading with United Trading Sevices, paying between 1.35 and 1.85 a side, just for execution though, i dont call in or use a broker.

What I meant was: Do they charge you 1.35 or 1.85 a side? Or a figure in between? And how do they determine what they charge you?
Checked my statement, this is what it looks like the charges are for each market I've traded.
ES, ER, EN= $3.70RT
ZJ= $2.65RT
ZB, ZN, ZF= $2.58RT
Globex Currencies= $ 4.85
Emini Crude: $4.95
This is the link right?
http://www.unitedtradingservices.com/

I've just taken a look and they advertise .99 for day trading and have a monthly sliding scale of rebates depending on your volume which looks very competitive.

What trading platforms do they support? What do you use?
I use ran edge, not bad. Costs a little a month though, think 200.00. They are really helpfull though, let them know what you want.
TG
"ran edge" ...?

I did a search on Google but couldn't find anything. Never heard of it either. Do you have a link for them?
http://www.rolfeandnolan.com/ is the website. I'm not sure if they have anything on the actual site, I dont know if they sell or provide the system to individuals. UTS sent me the download, I demo'd it first. shows me the depth of market thats what i like.
Thanks - I'd never heard of them before. The interface and technology looks a lot like PatSystems' J-Trader.