Contract Rollover

Thats a great chart !

We always get questions about this issue on roll-over days.
I received this question from someone:
quote:
Guy, I am relatively new to trading the emini, so please excuse me if I ask a "dumb" question, but I am confused about what you mean by the following:

"If you are opening a new position in the ES before 09:30 that you plan to close during the day or perhaps before 09:30 you could use the near contract but you must remember that the spread will start widening as traders start switching out of this contract and you will struggle to get as favorable a price as you would with the next contract."

First of all there's no such thing as a dumb question - ask anything you want.

What it means is that as the volume in the contract starts to dry up, the spread will become wider and it will be more difficult to get a fill at a good price.

Here's an example:
It is the day before rollover and the spread is currently 1 tick in the near contract and 3 ticks in the next contract. If we're talking about the ES then that is 0.25 points because that is the size of one tick. So the near contract might have a bid/offer price of 1122.25-1122.50 and the next contract 1124.00-1124.75

This means that it if you buy the next contract at 1124.00 it has to trade up 3 ticks before you can get out at breakeven. If you buy the near contract it only has to move up by 1 tick before you can get out at breakeven. Trading the next contract is obviously less favorable.

This relationship (spread) will reverse at rollover. The near contract's volume will start to dry up and the spread will widen and the next contract's volume will pick up and the spread will narrow.

If you open a position 2 days before rollover and plan on closing it 2 days after rollover then there probably isn't much you can do about that and either contract (near or next) will suffice.