Follow the Plan

Hi

I’m new to the forum and I’m also fairly new to trading the S&P 500 e-mini. So far my e-mini trading has been going very well.
But last Friday I didn’t follow my trading plan and got a little beat up. The lose was only small, around 4.5 points and I’m usually a very Disciplined trader but on Friday I kinder lost it and kept chasing more and more losing trades. I keep going back to the chart and looking over my mistakes I know I should just move on and let it go but I’m having trouble accepting the mistakes I made.

I traded from Australia and I usually up at around 4.30 am to catch the last couple of hours of the trading day in the US. Maybe I was just over tried on Friday and wasn’t focusing on the job. I know losses are a part of the trading game and all my other losing trades I expect without a problem because I followed my trading plan.

The biggest lesson I have learnt from my mistakes on Friday is, Follow your trading plan, no matter what the out come you always get what the market wants.

Sparkie
You seem to be way ahead of the average trader with your mature attitude to following the plan and recognition of what you did wrong.

Had you followed your plan on Friday would you have still ended up with a loss but just a smaller loss?
The first trade I got it all wrong and I was stopped out for a 2 point lose.
If I had of not tried to second guess the market after that and just sat beck a waited for the next trade setup I would have ended up at break even. But that’s all in hindsight now. I have faced the facts form Fridays trading and I made too many mistakes.

It should be a good week of trading with the FOMC meeting mid week. What's the feeling about rates in the US???
Here Australia they are talking about a rate rise.
There's a 2% probability of a rate DECREASE (FOMC Fed Day) and a 98% probability of no rate change. The rates in the US are currently 5.25% - what are they in Oz?
There's more FOMC information here: Fed Day Charts