Quotes 4

I want a one-armed economist so that the guy could never make a statement and then say 'on the other hand...'. - Harry S. Truman

I was a lousy accountant. I always figured that if you came within eight bucks of what you needed you were doing OK. I made the difference up out of my own pocket. - Bob Newhart

My formula for success is rise early, work late, and strike oil. - Paul Getty

The avoidance of taxes is the only intellectual pursuit that still carries any reward. - John Maynard Keynes

I worked my way up from nothing to a state of extreme poverty. - Groucho Marx

If Graham was alive today, he might argue that you should simply withdraw from the market for a few years until conditions arise which offer you value for money that you are seeking. Graham might be right, but my problem is that I would get so bored waiting. - Jim Slater

I'd be a bum on the street with a tin cup if the markets were efficient. - Warren Buffett on the efficient market hypothesis

I like the directors to own a number of shares substantial enough to give the 'owner's eye', but not so many that they have control, can sit back and could at some stage block a future bid. I like to see a good cross-section of the directors with reasonable shareholdings and I always worry if the Finance Director is not among them. - Jim Slater

Investing without research is like playing stud poker and never looking at the cards. - Peter Lynch

It is quite possible to lose money if a company's accounts follow UK GAAP [Generally Accepted Accounting Practice in the UK] to the letter, but the picture presented is so misleading that you are unable to interpret them correctly and as a result fail to see that it is financially vulnerable or its earnings are unsustainable. - Terry Smith

A company that descends into loss making often succeeds in making a comeback. One which runs out of cash (and friends) rarely has a second chance. - Alan Sugden