Federal Reserve Districts and Regional Banks

Search Dictionary

Definition of 'Federal Reserve Districts and Regional Banks'

The Federal Reserve officially identifies Districts by number and Reserve Bank city.
Click image for original size
Map of Federal Reserve Districts

  • 1st District (A) - Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
  • 2nd District (B) - Federal Reserve Bank of New York, with a branch in Buffalo, New York
  • 3rd District (C) - Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
  • 4th District (D) - Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, with branches in Cincinnati, Ohio and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • 5th District (E) - Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, with branches in Baltimore, Maryland and Charlotte, North Carolina
  • 6th District (F) - Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, with branches in Birmingham, Alabama; Jacksonville, Florida; Miami, Florida; Nashville, Tennessee; and New Orleans, Louisiana
  • 7th District (G) - Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, with a branch in Detroit, Michigan
  • 8th District (H) - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, with branches in Little Rock, Arkansas; Louisville, Kentucky; and Memphis, Tennessee
  • 9th District (I) - Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, with a branch in Helena, Montana
  • 10th District (J) - Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, with branches in Denver, Colorado; Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; and Omaha, Nebraska
  • 11th District (K) - Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas [11], with branches in El Paso, Texas; Houston, Texas; and San Antonio, Texas
  • 12th District (L) - Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, with branches in Los Angeles, California; Portland, Oregon; Salt Lake City, Utah; and Seattle, Washington

The New York Federal Reserve district is the largest by asset value. San Francisco, followed by Kansas City and Minneapolis, represent the largest geographical districts. Missouri is the only state to have two Federal Reserve Banks (Kansas City and St. Louis). In the 12th District, the Seattle Branch serves Alaska, and the San Francisco Bank serves Hawaii. New York, Richmond, and San Francisco are the only banks that oversee non-U.S. state territories. The System serves commonwealths and territories as follows: the New York Bank serves the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands; the San Francisco Bank serves American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The Board of Governors last revised the branch boundaries of the System in February 1996.

Do you have a trading or investing definition for our dictionary? Click the Create Definition link to add your own definition. You will earn 150 bonus reputation points for each definition that is accepted.

Is this definition wrong? Let us know by posting to the forum and we will correct it.

Emini Day Trading / Daily Notes / Forecast / Economic Events / Trading Indicators / Search / Terms and Conditions / Disclaimer / Books / Online Books / Site Map / Contact / Privacy Policy / Links / About / Day Trading Forum / Investment Calculators / Pivot Point Calculator / Market Profile Generator / Fibonacci Calculator / Mailing List / Advertise Here / Articles / Financial Terms / Brokers / Software / Holidays / Stock Split Calendar / Features / Mortgage Calculator / User Pages / Donate

Copyright © 2004-2018, MyPivots. All rights reserved.