please clarify my doubt in pivot calculator

hello guy,
this is santosh. i have some doubt in pivot calculator so please clarify it sir. i have some knowledge in pivot calculator but i have some doubts. and i will explain my doubts with one example. and i am using meta trader software for trading purpose and in meta trader supply chart in their software.and i will put mouse in that chart then it will displays open, hign, low and close values then i will take that values for finding the pivot points it is correct or not. the example is as follows:

i will take USD/JPY pivot points on 11-10-2005 at 13.30 then USD/JPY open, high, low and close rates are as follows:

open : 117.69
high : 117.74
low : 117.69
close: 117.72 then the pivot points are as follows:

R4 : 117.87
midpoint : 117.84
R3 : 117.82
midpoint : 117.79
R2 : 117.77
midpoint : 117.76
R1 : 117.74
midpoint : 117.73
PP : 117.72
midpoint : 117.71
S1 : 117.69
midpoint : 117.68
S2 : 117.67
midpoint : 117.64
S3 : 117.62
midpoint : 117.59
S4 : 117.57

the above values are the pivot calculator values. in the above values i have some doubts that is what is the midpoint and why r u take 4 resistances and 4 support values.

i will using the above pivot points i will go to USD/JPY buy side because pivot point (PP) is greater than open value other than the pivot point (PP) is below than the open values then i will go to sell side it is correct way or not please tell me sir.

regards,
k.n.v.santosh
Hi Santosh,

It sounds like you need to do a lot more research with pivot points and their effectiveness before you trade real money with them.

The calculator on the web site has the formulae exposed so that you can confirm that they are being calculated correctly by doing it manually. The midpoints, for example, are very simply an average of the price above and below them. In your example, the midpoint between R1 and R2 is (117.74 + 117.77) / 2. Does that make sense?