ORDER ENTRY PREFERENCES

almost in all platforms the default for: stop/if touch trigger type is

1) single trade tick
2)double
3) triple...........etc.

Since there are many exprienced traders here I would like to hear your order preference type.
Thank You

PS I left mine at single trade tick, but I'm afraid it is the wrong chice
I think the answer depends on the market you are trading. Fast thin markets like CL and 6E are going to require a faster stop style than slow fat markets like ES or ZN. As an ES trader I use volume to filter a stop trigger rather than number of ticks. No way you could use my volume filtering method in the CL for example, its way too fast and thin. Even a stop/limit order won't work in the CL because it tends to jump over key price levels in fast market conditions (leaving the limit order unfilled as the market races away).

You might do some simple statistical analysis of the different styles for your market of choice. Having some objective numbers may help guide you toward the proper way of handling a stop order for your specific market.
to PT EMINI Thank you for your reply I greatly appreciate it, in my previous post I failed to mention that I trade the SP emini mostly I scalp the market I use trade station platform. Will you please give me more details about your volume filter. how many contracts is your trigger stop?
My stop strategy, for the ES only, is based in the idea of price acceptance or rejection. I use the volume delta at the price level to make this determination in real-time.

What I want to avoid is being prematurely shaken out of a trade on a 25 contract price level probe. I am certain anyone that has traded the ES has had this experience of their stop being shaken loose to the tick and the market reverses off the stop level and the trade goes to the profit target without you (having been stopped out to the tick).