Opening Call for ES

I'm a former equity swing trader who has now been daytrading ES for the past month. I'm learning Market Profile, which so far has been very helpful.

Beyond MP, one of the areas that I feel I'm lacking in is knowledge in interpreting the opening call......I don't even know where to get the opening call in the first place....but I've seen more experienced e-mini traders talk about it. I know it has to do with pre-market (pre RTH) value but that's about it.

Any info regarding "opening call" and "fair value" would be much appreciated. Thanks.

From what I've heard, the opening call is a pit concept. The brokers (perhaps market makers) that are holding orders before the pit opens will establish prices that they are prepared to open at. There are traders (or clerks?) that go from broker to broker and find out what price they are going to open at and using this information they establish an "opening call" - basically an estimate of what the opening price will be.

This concept is now redundant with the introduction of continuous electronic markets which allow pre-pit opening entry. The opening call is now the electronic price just before the opening.

(Again - this is what I've gleaned from other traders - don't know how accurate it is.)
I agree with daytrader, the electronic overnight session has replaced the opening call since all the news has been factored into futures prices (and the cash ETF's) on the electronic market in real-time prior to the official floor opening. In most cases the floor opening price will mirror the already established electronic market price.

I suggest you pay attention to the overnight session's high and low during the first hour or two of the new day's trading session. These price levels often play an important role at the start of the day session. Once the IB is established, the overnight high and low play a lesser role.