Wondering how to start...again

I tried trading twice in the last 15 years with no success(-35k). Trading is something I always find myself attracted to so here I am again wanting to make it work. The one advantage I have now is I appreciate how hard it is. I am a contractor by trade and thus have to work during the day. I could trade west coast time from 6am to 730am (day trade?)and or review the market at 5pm and have a trade ready to place in the morning (trend trade?). I also have Vantage Point software but have not used it yet.
I have a few questions after just reading Trading for a Living by Dr. Alexander Elder and Trade your way to financial Freedom by Van K. Tharp. If you consider the basic costs of trading such as data feed, commission and slippage is it really possible for a beginner with a 5k account to make enough to cover those costs plus grow the account. My guess that with taxes one would have to make 10% a month just to cover costs. Can a beginner do that?
Has the recent volatility in the S&P made it a bad time for a beginner with a 5k account to trade the S&P mini?
I have a line on four different systems/methods/classes whose salespeople would love my money. Is there a great class or teacher that people would agree on would be great for someone like me?
Thank you
Virgo
I was wondering how some of you folks that are successful in trading made it happen. I suppose each case would be different. You hear that 90% of traders lose money at it so I wonder how many people really make it work over the long term. I think most beginners like me think that its fairly possible to make a living at it where as the truth may be somewhat different.
True, 90% of traders lose, as have I before, but the ones that win -- they win everything that the losers lose... and considering they're much fewer, in total they win very vast amounts of money.
How I went from losing to making $ as a trader:

1. Character - Perseverance, commitment, & self-control