Help

I have been papertrading using the THink or Swim papertrading for 7 months---EVERY DAY! I was just able this week to come up with the money needed to fund my account to day trade. Since January on my papertrading account I have earned over $900,000. I was told that if you can papertrade and make a profit it is the same as real trading. I was very shocked today when I lost $4,000 because I could not get my order filled. It took 5 minutes before my order was filled. Now I am concerned and to be honest a little scared to place a trade because of the time it takes to fill an order. 5 minutes seems really high. Is this normal? If so, how can a person be a successful day trader? The idea is to sell when there is a profit, but if it takes so long to fill the order the profit can get lost. Any ideas? Or do you know any companies that are faster than this?
In my experience the norm for a fill is about as long as it takes to blink. Usually as fast as you hit the go button you see the fill come back. If this isn't the case there is some issue, be it broker, platform, Internet, placement of limit orders that are outside the market, etc.
Jenpro: I'am a client with thinkorswim. My trades are filled in mill secs. You have live support on the platform ask them to take a look @ your trade
Was it at market, limit, stop limit bracket? Which? No matter, for that kind of money I'd bypass your broker and go straight to their Futures Clearing Merchant, Penson Financial Services Canada, Inc.

Until it's resolved I wouldn't trade.

Man I'm sorry.

I'm certain its a glitch but if you do decide to trade use a 2 point stop limit order and drag either the target or hard stop to price. That way slippage can be accounted for on record.

But four thousand dollars is grand larceny if you ask me. If Penson Financial Services Canada, Inc. is no help, take it straight to the Securities Exchange Commission - it'll be resolved then.

Again, my heart's with you.