Study says pivots don't work?

This simple study says that pivot points don't work; they author tested 10 major currency pairs for 2006 to the present and found that the price was no more likely to revert back to the pivot point than any other number [url]http://www.myforexdot.org.uk/PivotPointAnalysis.html[/url].

If pivots work, can someone suggest something that can be back tested to show that they have some statistical significance?
Hi David,

I don't have an answer to your back-testing (at this time) because I'm fairly new to day-trading (1 yr) and very new to pivot points (PP) -a couple of weeks.

(I would imagine that if PP had no value then they would have passed away.)

From a free short video (27 Aug) at TTM he says:
"I don't see how people trade the currencies without PP"

He combines weekly pivot points with the Keltner bands (on 120min and 60 min charts) but not against his 'squeeze' indicator.
http://www.tradethemarkets.com/public/3781.cfm

It may be that PP are most valuably used with human judgment and so back-testing may not be the best way to examine your question.

Notice that he is trading the bands and finds extra strength if the weekly pivot points match the bands. Then he takes half profits at a PP in the middle of the band. His comment "look how well the markets respect the pivot points."

So for myself I am keeping an open mind and looking at PP as another possible tool in my arsenal that, with more experience, I will know when to apply them, and how to apply them, and other indicators and price action to confirm. As so many traders know of them and use them I feel I should be aware of where they are as well.

I hope it helps!

Guys, please don't play with this indicator stuff. It muddies up the screen.
I thought pivots were IT. They aren't. I thought MACD was IT. Not.
Price action is the only true language of the mkts.