How much reserves per contract?

I recently started trading the ES e-minis. How much reserves should I have to daytrade each contract (margin is $1,000 for daytrading)???

Also, what is a typical goal per day .5, .75, 1??

Thanks
The reserves you need should allow you to draw your account down to the longest losing streak that your strategy might endure. So, if your broker requires that you have a margin of $1,000 per contract then you should add that to the worst case scenario of a losing streak when starting out.

As an example: Say in back testing you discovered that the worst your strategy did was to lose 15 times in a row and each of those losses were for 2 points. That means that you could immediately lose 30 points before you see your first winning trade IF your trading starts off at the same unfortunate time of a losing streak. 30 x $50 = $1500 + (say) $75 commission = $1575. So in this case you would need to allocate $2,575 per contract that you're about to trade.

This is a very simplified example because you may have a streak like: 5L 1W 8L 2W 12L 15W etc. (where W=win and L=lose) and also your winners and losers may be different sizes.

It also depends on your strategy. If, for example, your win/loss ratio is 1/9 then you anticipate long periods of losing (small losses) BUT your winners are enormous.

On the other hand if your win/loss ratio is 9/1 then you probably have lots of small winners and a few large losses.

So your MINIMUM capital base depends on your strategy. Many people say that you should work out your minimum and then multiply that by 2, 5, or even 10.