Good strategies for beginners?

Hi everyone!

I read in another thread that it's a good idea for a beginning futures day trader to choose one simple strategy and learn it inside out. Does anyone have a straightforward system they could recommend to learn and practice?

Or could someone point me to a good source or website to start reading? There is quite a bit of information out there and a big challenge will be just trying to make heads or tails of it. I think the best approach for my learning at this stage is to find a basic starting point from which I can slowly plow forward.

Thanks!

Marcus
Marcus,

I have been a full-time student of the market for 4 years 1/2, and I have not found any "straightforward" trading system yet.

To be honest, I believe successful trading requires a lot of work to get there, a very good markets & trading education to start with, a mentor that can shorten the learning curve for you, and a lot of hard work on your part (since a lot of that hard work will be devoted to researching & backtesting trading systems, it makes a lot of sense to get equipped with a trading platform allowing for system programming & automated backtesting, look into TradeStation, MultiCharts, NinjaTrader, Trade Navigator, and a couple of others).

You probably know the stat already ... it is said that only 5% of wanabee traders will eventually make it as successful traders. Not much different from any other entrepreneurial endeavor, but really something to consider before betting your life savings on it. And if you do take the plunge, please put the odds in your favor and follow the high-level advices in prior paragraph.

Read (or re-read) Brett N. Steenbarger "Enhancing trader performance" ; that should give you some ideas of what's ahead of you.

Take your time and keep your day-job ... becoming a successful trader is a marathon, not a sprint ...

My 2 cents
Dominique
Listen to Dom. Great advice.