Newbie Here

Hello,

I'm looking for a site where I can "paper trade" the S&P 500 and see if I can have some success, before I put out any $$$$$. I don't mind paying for the service, but I'd like to have it in "real time."

Thanks much!
quote:
Originally posted by dt_wannabe

Hi,

First off, I'm a newbie here.

Since this post regarded "paper trading", I was curious as to how well strategies developed from paper trading translate into "real trading".

And I know this was touched on before, but how long should one practice (assuming one has become proficient in chart-reading) using what looks like a profitable strategy with paper trading before taking the dive into doing the real thing.

Many thanks in advance.

welcome to the forum wannabe

I was curious as to how well strategies developed from paper trading translate into "real trading".

Given that your new to daytrading, I would use a 50% reduction factor to set your expectations. For example, if your paper trading indicates that you can produce $100 net profit per trading session, reduce that to $50 net for live trading.

how long should one practice (assuming one has become proficient in chart-reading) using what looks like a profitable strategy with paper trading before taking the dive into doing the real thing.

... i have heard folks suggest anything from 2 weeks to 6 months. I believe the answer to your question is different for every trader. I suggest you ignore the calendar and look at the consistency of your paper trading performance from week to week. Wait until your comfortable with your consistency as well as the risk of failure metrics like your largest single loss, longest losing streak, and maximum account drawdown. Until your trading results are consistent from week to week and you have good control on the risk side of your trading, you will want to keep your working capital (trading account) safely out of harms way.