- shallow retracements
- breakout strategies in favour of trend consistently works

Click image for original size
esz9110509

My additional observations of trend days:

- price is moving away from VWAP, which itself is trending

esz9102909

- TICK is biased, ie. on a downtrend day, there are few +ve TICK extremes, and the ones that do occur are on lower highs.

esz9102709

By definition, a trend day must be trending for the majority of the day. Therefore, if there is no successful breakout of the 1st hr IB, or if the IB breakout fails, chances are that it is not a trend day.

esz9102809

I am by no means an expert on trend days (just an observer!). I don't have any mechanical criteria that you can enter into an automated trade system to tell you definitively whether the day will be a trend day or not. Everything is all about probabilities. I look at the 5IB initially, and build on the ongoing assessment of whether it is a trend day or not.

jun2trendday

I invite everyone to take a look at these charts, and study for some common patterns to help better identify trend days...
here is some after the fact notes I made from todays partial trend day....these are common things that happen when we trend early in the day...still difficult to recognize as it unfolds though....this is based on some work I'm doing with the 30 minute closes in the ES
trendday
i trade the geometry of the markets... if i am trading what i think is a trend day i want 3 things... a target given by the larger geometry.... on my one minute chart, every pullback to be to fib with the stoch at the same time to be below 20... and as these pullbacks happen, for the ma's to stay aligned on the 5min.charts
ata

atd1

atd2

atd3

atd5

atd4

atd6
atdx