Question about Trading Taxes in Canada

Hi. This is a question for anybody who lives in Canada and trades futures or anybody who just happens to know this stuff.

How much (%) taxes is one expected to pay for trading the ES? Are there certain tax brackets? Do you pay taxes to the U.S. or Canada?

Any related information is also welcome.

Thanks in advance.
Hi feng
I am a canadian trader and trading educator.

Let me 1st say that I do not dispense tax advice I can only share my personal experience

1. As a Canadian you pay taxes in Canada, regardless of where it is earned. As long as you live in Canda you must file a return

2. Futures, Stocks, OPtions ect.. traded on any exchange in the world your profits are taxable in Canada as a Canadian resident

3. Tax brackets are scaled for both personal and corporate taxes, from as low as 17.75% up 56%

4. If you trade as an individual you will pay personal income tax on your profts as Earned Income

5. Personal Earned Income will hit the maximum tax bracket at approx $60,000 at which point the last dollar earned, will be at the highest rate of about 56% (depending on your province)

6. That does not mean you pay 56% x $60,000 the taxes are graduated, so the the total effective rate I beleive is about 35% to 38% again depends on other stuff like which province

7. You can deduct expenses related to trading to offset your income, BUT BEWARE !!

8. In order to offset expenses you must declare yourself as a 'trader' to the taxman, and this has 2 very negative consequences

a. it is very very difficult to change that status if you ever decide you are no longer a trader
b. all your long term investmenys will be charged at the higher Earned income rate, instead of capital gains of 25%

So doing that is a BIG decision, and you will forgoe the low 25% cap gains rate

What to do??

If you are a new trader just starting out, then you can test the waters as a trader and do it personally.