ES Wed 10-26-2011

i would not trust these numbers. i am new at picking key numbers. also i dont know how you people post and trade at the same time. my hat is off to you. just maybe someday i could do the same.

ok here what i got

1250-52.5
1240-42.5
1234.5-36.5
1225-27.5
1214-1216
1206-08
1200-02

take care
duck
Paul's Monday range projection has now been reached.

.618 of Monday range = 1224 reached yesterday.

1.00 of Monday range = 1217.25 reached now.
I agree with you NickP.

When I looked at RTH only VP from yesterday, LV was not until above 40. However, here is something I feel compelled to point out: This is basic chart reading, basic price pattern trading (where I cut my teeth).

When there is a swing failure like yesterday's PA at the bar completing at 3:05pm (swing H = 1236.25) and there was another swing failure (failure to move higher) at 1:25pm (high print was 1239.50) there is a tendency for prices to move back to those levels.

I blindly traded them for years. Now, with Bruce's comments about the VP, I understand how a different set of technical eyes can view the same price level as a potential reversal point.

But I also have to say that by its very nature, a HOD will have less volume at price because that proved to be the inflection point, plain as day on a chart, it's the H of the Day. That was the price level where many longs said, that's enough for me, don't want to be a pig and they abandoned long positions.

I continue to study the VP situations with the great observations Bruce has given us.
It is a valid observation to understand that when there is a swing failure High, and it is accompanied by low volume, you have recognize that it took very few sellers to turn prices lower. That, I think is putting a face to the PA and VP. It took fewer sellers to turn prices lower.

MY own observations of raw volume (per bar not per price) is that successful bo9ttoms need some sort of volume participation as the weak hands deliver to the strong hands.