Looking to sell ?

This 1047 - 1050 area..lots of volume firing off up here....good day for a gap fill...
what a frustrating day!

22 years ago today, to the day, I was working in Toronto as a broker.
Monday 19 Oct 1987.

The market started falling. A big day was 10 points and 30 a huge day. the screens were only programmed to show 2 digits. when it got past 99 we didn't know if it was minus -137 or minus -237.

Amazing.

Nothing to be done. No bids and no circuit breakers - by Wednesday the fall had completed but the clients didn't come back. I was a new broker and after trying to hack it for another 1.5years I gave up.

I thing like that leaves an impression.

Black Monday.

and now 19 Oct 2009 is also a Monday.

ooh-oo-ohh-oo (that's supposed to be Outer Limits music :-)
quote:
Originally posted by blue

Hi MM,

I can't find that gap. Where did you see it?
http://finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=^GSPC&a=09&b=3&c=2008&d=09&e=30&f=2008&g=d

tried to upload screen snap of my ES08 data - but no go.

mercury retro?

Hey Blue,

Took a peek at the web link you posted. It shows a gap down on Monday Oct 6 with its high of 1097.56 being lower than the previous trading day's low on Friday Oct 3 of 1098.14

I think that's the actual SP-500 cash index (?). The SP emini contract ESZ8 for Dec 08 using RTH shows a gap down on my TS charts (TS symbol ESZ08.D) ... barchart.com shows the low of Oct 3 as 1102.50 but won't show the gap since they include all trading (beyond RTH):

http://charts3.barchart.com/chart.asp?sym=esz8&data=A&jav=adv&vol=Y&divd=Y&evnt=adv&grid=Y&code=BSTK&org=stk&fix=

Any ES "continuous contract" chart will also show a gap if using RTH, but it will be a different (lower) price due to the the nature of cobbling together the different contract months over time. I'm sure I'm blathering on about what you already know.

Anyway, here's a daily ES chart of the Dec 08 contract out of TradeStation:

Click image for original size
No Description Entered